Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2,290 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, yesterday I took Donatello for a check-up, somewhat overdue...

I was recommended to a place from a guy at the dog-park... (I get all my information from those people! lol!) Anyway, it's a little hole-in-the-wall business. First come, first serve... There are only two doctors that are in only three hours a day.

Well, yesterday at 2:30 I pulled in the parking lot waiting for 3:00 so they'd re-open their doors. I was second in line, luckily.

I told two guys, that I wanted a check-up and to have Donatello tested for heartworms.

Well... I'm not an expert but I believe they didn't even give him a check-up! I went in the back with them, they asked me if he was neutered, I said "yes", then showed them the paperwork proving he's had all his shots... Then they just drew his blood, and I carried him to the scales... (HE WEIGHS 20 POUNDS!) lol! He hardly eats but he's still a little porker. : P lol!

Anyway... Donatello tested negative for heartworms, thankfully, and we got him started on preventative... A six month supply was only $19.99 from them! I thought that was a good deal... Their check-ups are free of charge, and the doctor that saw Donatello charges $40.00 to test for heartworms.

Now, my concern is... I think that the doctors and orderlies are in such a rush to see as many people as they can that they overlooked the fact I wanted him to get a check-up. All they did was weigh him, and draw his blood... Weighing him isn't all they do for a check-up is it?

I was so impressed with the price, but in this case I think you "get what you pay for"... They were in such a rush to rush me out of there... I was only there (20 minutes)...

Should I find another vet? Or could they have just not paid attention to my request?

·
Registered
3,599 Posts