Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm new to this thread and I have several issues with my dog that I suspect are inter-related so I though I would start a thread in order to present the whole picture and hopefully address these issues both effectively and efficiently.

My wife Pim and I got our first dog together in December of 2011. I've lived with dogs before with my family but my dad was always the master. Our dog Winston is a 4 year old Poodle/Bichon Frise (turns 4 on July 10). He came from a loving home where the daughter who was the main care giver was off to university and the parents were not able to give him the attention they felt he deserved. He had one previous owner as a puppy but we don't know anything about that relationship.

Now that we have had Winston fore half a year now we are in need of some help. Winston is a very smart dog and is able to be taught new skills/tricks very quickly and easily. I suspect he is so smart that he is in fact training us.

For the first couple of months my wife was at home with Winston all day. The two of them became very closely attached almost instantly. He is also close to me but certainly more so with Pim. Then, after two months, Pim had to go to her home country for 6 weeks. When she came back he became even more attached to her.

Before and while she was away he was very easy to walk. He seemed to enjoy it and walked nicely with a loose leash most often. Even still he always seemed to have issues with some other dogs and some humans which is an ongoing issue I will address later. It never seemed to be a problem that wasn't manageable when he was happy to just walk away.