Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I'm new to this and i was searching through google for some answers to my question and i came across this website hoping for some good advice.
My boyfriend and i recently brought a lovely puppy home and he is only 42 days. Today we gave him his first vaccine shot and i am a bit concerned because he has been shaking and cries any time he is held. I'm figuring he is a bit sore from the shot but what i am more concerned about is the shaking.
I contacted the vet and he told me it is normal to be sore but not normal to be shaking and i should give it some more time before contacting him again.
After all, he is only a very young pup with very sensitive and thin skin and it hurts to see him hurting like that. Has this happened to anybody before? If so, any recommandations on what to do to make him feel better?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
I have not had my rottweilers shake or even show soreness after their puppy vaccines. What was the vaccine and how much longer did the vet tell you to wait to contact them if the shaking doesn't subside?

Where did you get your puppy? How old was he when you brought him home?? Puppies really shouldn't be sent home before 8 weeks of age.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I got him from a breeder when he was 37 days old! i told the breeder that it was too soon to take him home but he said that it was ok and that he has already gave away 2 puppies before i took mine.
He is a very healthy puppy and the vet assured that but he told me to wait for a few hours and check if he was still shaking and he still is ..its been over an hour or so and it did not happen immediately after the vaccine. It happened right after he ate. The shot was Vanguard DA2Pi, Vanguard CPV-Lepto.
Should i be concerned and take him to the vet?

·
Registered
1,874 Posts