Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I'm new to the forum here and i have a quick question i hope somebody can help me with! I have a 4 month old staffie cross who i've had since 12 weeks old. As i'm a teacher i had 3 weeks off work and worked very hard training and socializing him. To be honest he is my perfect dog, amazing with kids, our 2 cats and any other dog he sees. I'm really worried that this is all going to change when he reaches puberty!! Is my dog as lovely as i think he is or is he just being a puppy?? I'm worried that when he reaches puberty he is going to become aggressive to cats/ kids etc. If puberty does change a dogs temperament will neutering him before puberty preserve my lovely dogs nature? My husband does not want him neutered as he wants him to be a "real dog" but if i will loose my lovely puppy i would rather argue with him about this! please advise!

·
Registered
13,074 Posts
I can honestly say that all my dogs went though a " Teenage " phase at around 6 months to about 9 month of age. After it was over they returned to their normal sweet selves. :) Pups do go through some stages as well as fear stages. I am personally still trying to learn about the timing of the fear stages also. I did not find neutering to change much of anything nor did I the spaying other than not having to worry about unwanted puppies and maybe the boys not wanting to roam looking for a potential mate so much. My boys never marked in the house nor does my female. Still I do not attribute this to N/S.

·
Registered
20,766 Posts
All pups go through a "teenage" stage. . .it might partially be due to hormones but even early-neuters will do it. He'll be a pain for a few months, just like teenage humans but for a shorter time period.

·
Registered
1,260 Posts