Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im not speaking for all dogs her because I have seen some dogs that indeed need there space but I was sitting down watching tv today and my puppy gently sits in my lap and falls asleep there. I thought it was too cute to not mention it and it also got me thinking about all the other times and how much she likes to cuddle and how she always has to be by my side. What is it about a dog that motivates them to do this? This is something that cannot be trained or at least hasn't been on my part. I wonder what goes on in there head when they think about there care taker?

·
Registered
14 Posts
I often wondered that myself. I have had my dogs for about 7 years and often wonder what drives them to want to be close to us. I am no dog pro and have not researched this by any means but I think they are instinctively social and pack animals. I think that is the kind of behavior they would have in the wild as well. They would "cuddle" the other dogs in the pack... You'll notice that people who have multiple dogs, the dogs often cuddle together (mine do occasionally). But just like people, they have different personality so not all of them like the same amount of attention and/or "cuddling". :)

Just my amateur dog owner theory.. :p

·
Registered
4,066 Posts
Dogs have a lot of wonderful qualities most people don't have. Don't know why, and not about to complain :D

·
Registered
170 Posts
CM says a dog that sits on you or leans against you uninvited is dominating you. That may not be the case in all dogs though..

·
Registered
4,066 Posts
CM says a dog that sits on you or leans against you uninvited is dominating you. That may not be the case in all dogs though..
Cesar Milan says a lot of things. :rolleyes: