Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12,761 Posts
Alpha = the person who's responsible for training the dog which behaviors are the most rewarding. So you tell me...how much have you shown your dog which behaviors are the most rewarding?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How do I delete this post lol?

There are soooooo many articles about being the pack leader but I've never done that before. I've always just done commands and treated them, played with them etc. It's all a bit new to me. I always thought that being the Alpha that the other dogs sometimes attack it to become alpha themselves and I don't want that :S

I just want to do right by our Toby and make him happy, he deserves that :)

·
Super Moderator
11,835 Posts
Why do you want to delete your post?

I think you've been listening to all the wrong people. Domestic dogs are not wolves.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm confused basically lol
All this alpha stuff is nee to me. In the past I've just trained with treats and love etc but now everyone says humans should be the alpha.

·
Super Moderator
11,835 Posts
If you insist on somebody being the alpha then, yes, it should be you.

So the question is, how do you get there? If someone tells you you get to be the alpha by going through the doorway first, eating first or (gasp!) pinning your dog on his back, run away very fast and don't look back. Bullying a dog doesn't make you an alpha. It makes you a chump.

Training with treats and love seems like a pretty good start, actually.

I still don't understand why you want your post deleted. Internet forums work with threads. Cut the thread and the whole thing falls apart.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Look your dog in the eye, and say "Don't you know who I am? I'm Rick James!" (/sarcasm)
(seriously, unless you really know your dog, don't stare them in the eye)