Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just curious who feeds homemade food for their dogs, and a couple of questions about their food:
What is in their food?
What kind of dog do you have and how much does you dog weigh?
How much do you feed your dog (and how you fuigure out how much to feed)?
What is the ratio of meat/organs to grains to veggies/fruits (etc.)?
Do you add any supplements/vitamens to your dog's meal (if so, what?)?

I am new at the homemade food thing and was just wondering how some of you make you dog food. I would ask my vet these questions but she wanted me to stick with a commercial dog food like science diet and didn't offer much help cause she didn't approve of my choice to switch her.

Right now I am still feeding her a about 40% dog food (eagle pack holistic brand, cause I am not sure if she is getting enough vitamens and stuff) and 60% homemade. In Sadie's homemade food is beef, chicken, liver, barley, brown rice, oatmeal, broccilli, carrots, green beans, little bit of celery, and spinch (I chop all the veggies finely).
Sadie is a bichon poodle and weighs about 11 lbs (my vet says she is over weight so I am decreasing her foos a bit and increasing exercise, is a half an hour walk a day ok?)
I feed her about a cup of food in the morning and a cup at night (the cup inculdes both homemade and dog food).
Her homemade is about 40% meat (5% liver included in that), 30% grains, and 30% veggies.
For supplements I give her about 1/8 tsp of ground egg shell, a multi-vitamen, a temporary probiotic supplement, and Udo's for dogs.

I hope her diet is ok, do you know if I might be able to take her off the dog food? I am open to criticism/change, just please put it nicely. Im looking forward to here about your recipes and such.
Thanks ahead of time for your replies (sorry for any spelling mistakes).

·
Registered
6,227 Posts