Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for some ideas on what kind of dog to get. I live in a house with a small yard. The dog would have to be in the house when I'm not home. I would be away at work for 9.5 hours, 5 days a week and would take the dog for a walk/run before and after work. I'd like one where I can throw the ball/frisbee around.
I'd like the dog to be medium to large size. I've been looking at Australian Shepherds and Border Collies. But they are extremely hyper. Would 2x 1 hour walk/runs a day be enough with my living conditions. Also what about a Chesapeake Bay Retriever?
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
9,131 Posts
NOT and Aussie!!

I live with three of them (currently four) and I am Home almost ALL DAY. (I'm a college student off for the summer) and they STILL drive me insane sometimes, I take them usually for 1 or 2 hour long bike rides or walks a day, pluse some ball throwing for about 20 minutes, then another 20 minutes of swimming, and then we have about a half hour training session of eather obedience or agility. EACH DAY! and they still want more.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I wish I could work from home so I could be with my dog all the time. But unfortunately I can't. Do you know of any dogs similar to Australian Shepherds but require less exercise. I'd take it out for at least 2 walk/runs a day, but it sounds like Aussies need much more then I can work into my schedule.

·
Registered
9,131 Posts
All the herding breeds need baiscally the same amount of excersize so I would stay away from any herding breed.

I don;t feel comfortable telling you whats good for you, but I feel, when it comes to things I have a lot of experiance with, I can tell you what probably isn't good for you.

Sorry I can't be of more help.

·
Registered
3,174 Posts