Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I am new to owning a puppy and she is a 4.5 month old Mini American Eskimo.

I am curious, how do you know when your dog has an ear infection?
Once in awhile my dog will cock her head to the side and her ear will be lopsided when they are normally pointed up. She sometimes then itchs her ear with her hind leg.
She has itchy eyes from eye goop sometimes and paws at them... but tonight I saw her pawing further back past both ears and earlier her head was cocked with floppy ear.

My reasoning tells me if it were an infection, it wouldn't be so intermittent andthatbshe would have secondary symptoms. She is happy, full of energy and eating as normal.

Would love some advice on spotting the subtle differences. Thanks so much!

·
Registered
3,053 Posts
Have you cleaned her ears recently? If not, it might just be something like mites, or something else irritating her ears. If you haven't had her ears cleaned, try that? I've never dealt with an ear infection but if it IS an infection, it might have a foul odor coming from it, or discharge.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Does it look like there are little black specks like dirt inside? It could be a yeast infection (very easily treated) or mites. And it would have a bit of a smell to it if it were infected.

·
Registered
12,194 Posts
In my experience, there will be a bit of a smell, some waxy build up, and the inside of the ear will look more red than normal (or more red than the other ear). I've never noticed other symptoms outside of itching the ear (energy and appetite were fine).

Ears can often flop around during teething time, and she's right in the middle of that, so it could be the cause of her ear being lopsided.

·
Registered
3,674 Posts
Dogs I've known with ear infections are pretty intense about rubbing or scratching their ears, and it smells bad, and sometimes you can see discharge.

·
Registered
1,634 Posts