Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My dog Jordan is a black lab mix, almost 9 months old. I've been leaving him out of the crate for progressively longer periods of time while I'm at class during the day. I'm a veterinary student, so I'm usually gone from about 8 to 3 or 4, and I typically come home on my lunch break to let Jordan out. He had been doing very well staying home in the living room area for 4-5 hours at a time. All he would really do was sleep on the couch. I wanted to be able to leave him out of the crate all day so he would have access to his water dish, because every time I left the water dish inside his crate, he would tip it over. I tried that today. I was gone from 8 until 3 because I went to a lunch meeting, and when I came home there was a huge mess. He had chewed up the foam padding in his bed, he had taken my scarf off of the kitchen table and chewed that, and he had destroyed various other items that he could reach. I wasn't mad about it so much as disappointed. I thought he had been making good progress. I feel like we took 2 steps forward and 3 steps back. I left his rawhide and his toys out for him to chew on, but apparently he found those other items more enticing. How can he go for long periods of time without destroying anything, but then sometimes he does chew things up? How will I be able to trust him? This is the first time I've been the sole caretaker of a puppy, and I kind of feel like I never want to have a young dog again. He certainly looked like he knew I was upset with him when I came home. I told him to get in the crate so I could clean up, and he jumped in there so fast you would think I lit his tail on fire.

I guess I'm just frustrated. It's probably all my fault and I should have taken more precautions or come home during lunch or something. I guess we have to go back to the crate for a while.

·
Registered
2,968 Posts