Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I am pretty new to this. I have a 16 week old Soft Coated Wheaten Terrier that we got at 8 weeks. He is progressing very well and is a very smart dog. Potty training is going great! very minimal accidents these days, he knows to go to the door, etc. He will do wonderful at night. Won't get up until I do, can stay in the crate 9-10 hours overnight if I'm sleeping.

The problem is, separation anxiety..or what I believe to be separation anxiety. When I leave for work he is constant crying. If I put him in his crate and go into another room he is crying! We have a dog walker for when I'm at work. She comes every four hours right now. About every 2-3 times, he will pee in his crate. He keeps doing this and I would think he would learn by now. yes, the crate has a divider so it's small enough, he has toys, treats, etc. He will not pee any other time, except for when I'm gone.

I really need help on how to stop this!! It's killing me. My fiance is working away right now, so he's only home on the weekends. He won't usually pee if we're gone for 3 or so hours..but it seems like when it's more than that about every 2-3 times he is going, laying in it, etc. Nothing plush in the crate. no bed. nothing. I was wondering if it is same to use those calming tablets dogs? I didn't know if puppies were ok to take them? Also, I work a lot of night shifts right now and I didn't know if they would be a good thing to try for when I'm trying to sleep during the day when I get home since he usually doesn't want to be sleeping again when I am in the day. I wanted to try here first before consulting my vet about this and having to make another appointment. PLEASE! if anyone can help at all!! It would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
4,350 Posts
I'm sorry, this must be frustrating!
A couple things you can try: