Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just got a little golden puppy and I am completely overwhelmed. What is most important for me as a pet owner to focus on? (Training the dog? keeping it healthy? making sure he isn't lonely?) please help

·
Registered
124 Posts
Yikes, I don't know where to start. I've had dogs my whole life and currently have a puppy, but I'm no expert. I'm sure others can give you more detailed advice, and you can search throughout the forum for information on each topic.

#1 Health
Where did your get your pup (breeder, rescue, etc.)? They should have given you some health history, but I always play it safe and take my pup to the vet immediately. The pup will need to be vaccinated.

#2 Training
We immediately enrolled our pup in "puppy preschool". They do some basic commands but it's extremely helpful with socialization. Socializing a puppy to new places, people and dogs and at young age is very important. But, be cautious until your pup has been fully vaccinated (around 4 months). Housetraining should probably be one of your first priorities. I would also highly recommend crate training. There's tons of information on this site regarding training.

There's so much more! I would suggest focusing on a particular topic and searching on the forum or asking a specific question. If you enroll in training your trainer can also provide guidance.

·
Registered
19,018 Posts
In my opinion at first the most important thing is bonding. Make sure to take some time to start developing a bond with your dog and it will make things in the future a lot easier. I'd also start being consistent with house rules, etc and enforcing appropriate behavior.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4