Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I am new to this great forum. I have a question about clippers for you professional groomers and pet owners who groom your own dogs. I have a Cocker Spaniel with a thick, wooly matted coat. I am tired of spending 50 bucks to get her groomed. We do this two or three times a year, because of the cost. I figured if we groom her ourselves, we can do it every 5-6 weeks. I have narrowed my choice down to the Oster A5, because it looks powerful, bombproof, and has a universal motor. I have heard complaints about how heavy and bulky they are. That does not matter to me. I don't care if the thing weighs 10 pounds, as long as it does the job and lasts forever. My wife will disagree, because she is a hairstylist and uses clippers all day long. Since I will be grooming the dog, I do not care how big or heavy they are. Although I am getting the A5, there are 4 different models. Do I really need the Turbo for a Cocker? My wife's friend loaned her a pair of dog clippers (she thinks they were Oster) and they didn't work on her heavy coat. I am leaning towards the Golden, because I don't think it will get as hot. Is the golden adequate enough to go through a thick heavy coat? Will the Golden outlast the Turbo? Do I need a 2 speed, or will a single speed work fine? If I get a double speed, how often will I actually use the higher speed? I am not a professional, who needs speed to do 10 dogs a day. I do, however,want the power and torque to rip through her coat like hot butter, and will get the turbo, if it makes a difference. However, I do not want any more than I need. I am concerned that the turbo may be too fast on low speed, and may not last as long as the Golden(it seems like the higher speed will sacrifice torque and burn up the motor easier.) Cost is no issue, as the Turbo does not cost much more than the Golden. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered