Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm looking to buy a dog but I would like advise on what breed(s) would be best for me. I've owned 4 dogs in the past, however I'm not experienced with training because I was a kid and my family took care of them. I'm looking for a dog that isn't too hard to take care of (ex. how huskies are escape artists, or dogs that tend to be aggressive) that is a medium size, or large in necessary. Next summer I'll be moving on my own and would like the dog to be a companion to keep me company and allow me to feel safe when I'm on my own. I've already found a trainer who will help me with obedience training and done research on many breeds, from beagles to labs to rottweilers but I wanted advice from some experienced dog owners on what breed(s) would be best for me. Also, I already have a cat so I'd prefer a breed that's easy to socialize or advice on how to socialize the two. Thank you in advance and I really appreciate your answers.

·
Registered
7,440 Posts
Okay, so medium-sized, cat-friendly, and a visual deterrent? That's a good start. Do you have grooming preferences (that is, do you mind a dog that sheds, or would you prefer a breed that needs to be regularly clipped by a groomer? How much brushing and general coat care can you do)? Also, how much exercise will you realistically be able to provide?

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3