Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm doing some hunting around for a friend who is interested in a Golden Retriever puppy. I have no experience with breeders, but I know some things to look out for based on what I've learned here.

I'm really curious what some of you will think of this breeder. The website is difficult to navigate due to being full of info and clearly created by someone without a ton of design experience lol.

Opinions welcome!

Here's the breeder's site:

http://www.libertyrun.com/

·
Registered
529 Posts
It's interesting that they don't breed for show OR sport. However it seems like a good breeder. I would visit their home and ask a few questions. I'd be interested in how many litters a year they have, how they determine who to sell the puppies to, lineage papers, etc.

I've only been associated with breeders who breed for show. Many breeders in this case only have one litter a year at most. They can and often will be picky about who they sell their pups to. These breeders also make zero profit on their breeding, many will actually lose money each litter because they do not breed for profit.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's interesting that they don't breed for show OR sport. However it seems like a good breeder. I would visit their home and ask a few questions. I'd be interested in how many litters a year they have, how they determine who to sell the puppies to, lineage papers, etc.

I've only been associated with breeders who breed for show. Many breeders in this case only have one litter a year at most. They can and often will be picky about who they sell their pups to. These breeders also make zero profit on their breeding, many will actually lose money each litter because they do not breed for profit.
What's really odd is that some of their pups have gone on to do shows...and clearly they do shows with their own dogs.