Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please don't flame me for this. I'm new to the whole 'dog world', and since I've joined this forum, I've read quite a few threads that mention the horribly practices of back yard breeders, and how you should never get a puppy from a BYB, etc. But I haven't been able to find a thread that tells me the difference between a BYB and a good breeder, or what it is that makes BYBs so bad. Could someone please explain this for me?

·
Registered
269 Posts
Different folks will offer different opinions. I think the main points you won't find much disagreement about are a breeding program with clear goals, health/temperment testing, buyer screening and a contract with a health guarantee as well as a clause that the breeder will take the puppy back at any time for any reason. This is the stuff you should see at the very minimum to consider a breeder responsible--any of those things missing and it's a good bet you are looking at an irresponsible breeder (byb).

There are a number of other things as well, such as spay/neuter, titled dogs, the breeder's involvement in rescue, pricing issues, and a host of other things that really matter to some folks but others consider less of a priority.

·
Registered
4,072 Posts
Most BYBs DO love their dogs. My definition is that BYBs are not: