Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A little about me:
I am a college student. I live in a small house with a tiny backyard. My roommate does not mind if I have a dog, I already talked to her about it. I only go to school two days a week and I work from out of home, so I have plenty of time to spend with my future dog.

What I would like in a dog:
I would absolutely love if the dog was non-shedding/low shedding because I hate finding hair stuck to my clothes. I would like a dog that would possibly protect me if it needed to, because I go jogging by myself. I would like a dog that is a "velcro" dog. I want it to follow me and obey me. And above all, listen and come when I call her/him.

I was thinking maybe a standard poodle?
Also I would love to adopt a shelter dog, but how do I pick one? I am afraid that I will adopt an older dog and it having bad habits, thats why I would rather get a puppy.

·
Registered
11,257 Posts
I think you should talk to a poodle rescue. A standard poodle does sound like a reasonable choice; you should be prepared to spend the time and money on grooming though. The "listen and come" part is 90% training and the "obey" part is 99% training.

Don't expect a dog to protect you, your job is to protect it. That said, nothing wrong with letting the dog be a deterrent. I'll fully admit that when I was walking my large hound and my pit bull foster at dark last night, it did add that "little extra measure of safety" feeling. A standard poodle is a large dog but doesn't make most people think "uh oh, better avoid them", although I think clipping it like a hunting poodle rather than a show poodle would change that some.