Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

What are your thoughts on shock collar training?

18K views 49 replies 18 participants last post by  petpeeve 
#1 ·
I started training my german/husky, Anubis, for about 5 months now as it was recommended by a dog trainer a while ago. I placed him on a training and board program while I was away for 2 weeks and on the second week they began training him with the shock collar. For me personally it was worked as long as I have been using it in a non-hurtful manner for my pup but I would like to know what you guys think about it, or if you have ever tried it?

#2 ·
Nope, not for me. Shock collars work by causing discomfort, is the long and short of it - otherwise the correction would not reduce the 'bad' behavior. I, personally, don't want a relationship with my dog where I'm causing them deliberate discomfort on a regular basis. I feel this way about physical corrections in general; I've found it much more straightforward and effective to teach my dogs what I want them to do rather than punishing them when they do something I don't want.

They're also unforgiving tools. If you have poor timing or are inexperienced, or even if your dog is just particularly sensitive, it's too easy to attach negative emotional states to the wrong stimulus. Say your dog sees another dog, gets excited, and pulls. You correct for the pulling, but in the dog's mind, they now think other dogs cause the discomfort. Next time they react more strongly, pulling and barking to get the other dog to go away so the uncomfortable thing doesn't happen again. It unfortunately happens a lot with poorly applied corrective training measures.