Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for a good family dog. Had a female weimaraner for 12 years. We got her before kids and she was definitely my "velcro" dog (I was a stay-at-home mom, she was my buddy). Loved that dog. People always commented on how good she was ("But, I thought these dogs were hyper"-- we did lots of obedience training -- it payed off). After she passed, we got a 3 y.o. rescue weim and it didn't work out (super dog-aggressive, bit/snapped at people). Kinda scared me off the rescue route and maybe even the breed a little. Would like to go the puppy route again. Still considering a weim, but I have my eye on another breed, although I have no experience with them: the English Pointer (bench/show type vs. field).

We do not hunt, but I'd love a walking/running pal. We live in a rural subdivision (subdiv. surrounded by woods/fields). We have a invisible fence (cannot have standard fences). Kids are ages 8, 10 & 12. I now work at 8am - 4pm, M-F with summers off.

Things I liked about my weim:
Tons of personality
Smart (which can be good and bad, you just have to laugh sometimes)
Low maintenance coat/minimal vacuuming, too :)
Generally well behaved /obedient
Beautiful (admittedly not the most important trait, but she was stunning)

Things I didn't like about my weim:
Not particularly friendly toward other dogs (but not aggressive)
Tolerant of my kids, but not particularly interested in playing with them (only me or husband)
Anxious when away from home

Anyone care to compare/contrast Weims & Bench Type English Pointers. Or suggest other breeds?

·
Registered
9,307 Posts
Well when field trialing we used to say an English Pointer had more bird working ability in a toe nail than popular German Breeds GSPs/Weimies etc and the German breeds had more brains in toe nail than the average English Pointer. If you had a great Weimie why would you change.

·
Registered
5 Posts