Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Firstly, hello :wave: i'm new here!!

Ok so my thoughts are all over the place right now so I will try not to ramble and get straight to the point...

I want a dog, but I'm at university and I'm a medical student.

At home, we have a cav king charles so I'm not exactly a first time dog owner but we raised our king charles together as a family, whereas getting a dog at uni = on my own.

I don't want a puppy. Definitely have enough sense in me to not attempt to raise a puppy during term time on my own. I'm looking into getting a dog that's 2+ years and already house trained.

I live 2 hours away from home so getting help from family isn't an option. I live in a studio flat on my own and my friends at uni are all just as busy as I am with studies so I don't expect any help. So yeah, really on my own here!

Now the things I'm concerned about, the factors that are stopping me from jumping straight into it and getting a dog TODAY: the year I'm about to start means I will be out of the house 8am to 5/6pm as I'm on rotations/etc. Is that too long to leave a dog on its own? I'm hoping getting an older dog means it wouldn't be as nervous/restless/etc being left on its own for longer periods of time.... but I'm not sure if that's true? I would take the dog out for a walk before I leave in the morning and when I get back. I was thinking about maybe getting a mastiff as I'm told they need minimal exercise and are quite laid back, can anybody clarify or rebut this?

Also I'm quite a workaholic when it comes to my studies, I like to do my best. This is ok if the dog I have is laid back and doesn't mind just chilling inside with some company after exercise, so that I can sit with and do my studies without being distracted every 2 mins!! Am I being too hopeful?

I'm also wondering - are there any single dog owners with full time jobs out there?

·
Registered
529 Posts