Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to site. Thanks for reading my question. My dog was attacked while we were out walking on a local bike trail. Unprovoked vicious attack by a big dog. Owner said his dog did not like other dogs but was friendly twards humans and was no threat to people. This happened on a public bike trail. Almost killed my dog. I say,,if a dog can almost kill an innocent pup walking on a trail, it is a threat to humans. what do you think? thanks,.

·
Registered
179 Posts
All the experience I've had leads me to the belief that dog aggression and human aggression are separate issues, so whether or not a dog is a 'threat' kind of depends on how you define it. Any dog is capable of harming others. A dog capable of killing another dog on a trail must be a reasonable sized, strong dog, which would make them more of a 'threat' than a small weak dog. However I wouldn't say that the aggression displayed to another dog is any indication of how that dog reacts to people (unless it's resource guarding).

Heck, Neeka is dog reactive but she's the friendliest dog I know towards people. On the other hand, I sometimes work with a dog you have to be careful around but give him another dog to play with and they're immediately best of friends.

·
Registered
3,193 Posts
Dog aggressive dogs are no more likely to be human aggressive than any other dog, although a lack of socialization can contribute to both. However, no dog should be running loose and certainly no dog aggressive dog should ever be off leash in public areas.

I am so sorry for your bad experience.

·
Registered
149 Posts
That is such a scary thing to encounter, and I can definitely understand why you would feel the dog should be considered a threat to all around. But like PP's have said, it usually two seperate issues.
Hope your dog is doing better!

·
Registered
2,249 Posts