Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
10,837 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
We're the typical dog owner and vaccinate our dogs yearly for Bordatella, Distemper/Parvo/that combo, and three years for rabies. I'm becoming increasingly leery of vaccinations as this is the second year in a row Jonas and Smalls have had reactions to the injections. I've heard boosters, the word "titers" etc. thrown around and I'd like more information/where to look on finding alternatives to the typical vaccination schedule. We spoke with our vet today about, and they were unwilling to tell us any thing but to stick to their current vaccinations and that sometimes dogs just have reactions.

What is your vaccination schedule like? Am I way off base assuming there is something else? I'm going to google and call around, but I'd like to hear what every one else has going on and if I should pursue any thing.

·
Registered
5,997 Posts
I'm no expert so I can simply relay what my vet says. My vet gives annual rabies shots because they're required by law. They've now changed the law so that it's only required every other year and I'm assuming this is what my vet will now do. She breaks up the parvo/distempter/etc... vaccination up and gives one every third year. So the dog might get all three the first year if his vaccination history is unknown and get parvo only the year after that, distempter only the year after that, etc.... So the dog basically gets a booster every third year. Again, I'm not a vet, this is what my veterinarian recommends for my dogs.

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
mine get three sets of distemper and parvo as puppies. Then rabies at about 8 months or so. Then one more parvo/distemper booster at a year old and that's it. I do yearly or every year and a half (depends on if I'm showing heavily or not) rabies.

But my old dogs who just sit at home and are retired don't even get their rabies anymore.

·
Registered
4,423 Posts