Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I am a full time student college student and live in an apartment (we will be moving to a house in about 5 months). I am home almost everyday working on school work. My husband and I recently got a dalmatian puppy. When we first got her we didn't want her on the furniture. During the day when I was trying to work she was always running around and never seemed to relax or take a nap. This made it very hard for me to get any work done. One day while I was in the kitchen she jumped up on the couch and instantly fell asleep. When I came back in I was just so excited that she was asleep that I let her stay up there. Since then whenever she wants to relax she jumps up on the couch which has been great. We recently bought her a dog bed and now I would like for her to use the pillow instead of the couch to sleep and transition her to not being allowed on the couches again. I mainly want to do this because I don't want her jumping up on other peoples couches when we visit. Since the dog bed is on the floor and she associates the floor with play time, she hasn't really fallen asleep or relaxed on the blanket. She will just play with her toys on it. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to get my dog to associate the bed with relaxation instead of the couch? Or is it possible that she won't get on other peoples couches if we tell her no and I don't even need to be worried about this?

·
Registered
1,809 Posts
There's a class for that! FE165: Magic Mats: Where to be, When to go, and What to dohttps://fenzidogsportsacademy.com/index.php/courses/17557 is running in this Fenzi Dog Sports Academy session. Classes started on the 1st, but enrollment runs through the 15th. Tuition starts at only $65 and there are scholarships available that will cover half that if you need a bit of help. The deadline to apply for scholarships is tomorrow, if you are interested.

·
Registered