Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys! I just put a $200.00 deposit down on a 6 month old Dachshund that I'm picking up Thursday -- couldn't be more excited. However, I'm a full-time college student and since the responsiblity is going to be 100% MINE (not my parents, since I paid for him and everything), here is a big concern: my college schedule.

Here is my schedule:

Monday - class 7 a.m.-2 pm
Tuesday - observing teachers 7:30 am-12 pm BREAK (maybe let dog out?); class 2:30-5:00
Wednesday - class 7 am-2 pm
Thursday - observing 8 am-2 pm (1 hour break, come home, let dog out?)
Friday - class 2:30-5:00 pm (morning free)

Based on this schedule, what would be the best:
-Housebreaking method
-Potty training method
-Time to walk the dogs

I was thinking when I wake up, after my classes are done, and before bed for walking (and having him go to the bathroom).

Is crate training the best option? What about direct method? Wee-wee pads?

Please insight -- I'm a noob and I want to start housebreaking properly lol especially with time constraints

Best,
Andrew

·
Registered
6,075 Posts
I would begin with crate training. But you will be even more successful if you put the puppy on a tight eating and elimination schedule from the start, being flexible enough to change as the puppy grows.

Ask the breeder what kind of schedule the dog has now. And I always assume that any dog (adult or puppy) coming to my house can't hold it longer than 2 hours until they prove to me otherwise.

So this would be my schedule:

*first thing in the AM...outside
*bring the dog into a gated room and feed breakfast while you are getting ready for your day
*potty the dog, and then crate while you are gone
*when you have days that you are home, take the dog out every two hours...or any time the dog is sniffing, circling, squatting