Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As promised, a full update on my little one. She's still not out of the woods, but we just got home. She got so worked up when I tried to leave, that her vet and I decided since her heart and BP are stable right now, the stress of being separated from me would be worse for her then the risk of taking her home and running into complications. Stress isn't good for any dog, especially one already so compromised - But add a dog that has Addisons, and stress can be your worst enemy! Her heart was our biggest worry! Since that seams to be fine, if she crashes or starts going downhill, I can handle pretty much anything else with the big bag full of emergency meds Dr Pam sent home until I can get her back to the vet. I'm a trained and licensed vet tech even though I choose to no longer practice that profession - But it sure comes in handy when Aiyana's this sick!

She's pretty uncomfortable right now, she's not eating or drinking yet, but she's still got her IV catheter in to make it easy to give her fluids or emergency drugs if needed, and her vet is only a phone call away. We're keeping her on IV fluids to maintain her hydration until she's drinking on her own. I have her vet's cell and house numbers if anything goes wrong. We both feel like the chances of her having a nasty complication are alot higher if she's stressing out at the clinic and with Dr Pam then if she's relaxing at home with me. What can I say, she's a momma's girl, loves her momma almost as much as I love her!

It's still going to be a bit touchy for the next couple days, especially while we get the infection under control, but her vet and I both are feeling so much better now that the surgery is over and she did this well through it! Her liver function is a big concern, and a good part of what we've really got to watch right now. The compromised liver is going to make it harder to get her eating again!