Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello - I'm new to his so hopefully you can help me out.
I have had several dogs but have been extremely blessed to have them house train very quickly. I just adopted a Jack Russell Chi mix who is only 4mo old (also the youngest puppy I've ever adopted).
Here is the oddity - she is doing really well downstairs on the hard surfaces. She goes to the door and whines or scratches (trying to work on the bell thing - but she's scared of it). Every time I let her upstairs (on the carpet) she pees and/or poops...almost EVERYTIME!! Even if she just came in from outside ?!?!?! Usually it is gated off. And she has only gradually been offered a bigger and bigger section of the down stairs to roam as she does better and better but she can't get on the carpet without elimimnating - it's very weird....she goes to the crate each time for her 30 min time out(just like we did for downstairs) but she is not "getting it". Any suggestions to resolve this?

·
Registered
703 Posts
I'm also quite new, but my dogs really prefer certain surfaces for pooping. For example, they know there is sand in this one area and will sometimes give a second #2 a try when we get there if they didn't hold it.

Maybe she just loves the carpet for doing her business? She might also need more time outside- sometimes my dogs poop 2 or 3 times on a walk. (Why? lol)

I would suggest tethering her to you when you're home and crating her when you're away for a while. Sort of like going back to Potty Training 101.

I would stop the 'punishment' as it's probably not helping anyway.

Hello - I'm new to his so hopefully you can help me out.
I have had several dogs but have been extremely blessed to have them house train very quickly. I just adopted a Jack Russell Chi mix who is only 4mo old (also the youngest puppy I've ever adopted).