Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife fell in love with a small, long-haired, black dog named Kyno and we adopted him.

Nobody seems to know the breed. Pekingese ? I looked that breed up but I think he looks different.

Can you help ?

Thank you.

Attachments

·
Registered
818 Posts
I'm no expert either, but looks like there could be some chihuahua in your dog. It's a mix I think.

·
Registered
1,779 Posts
I can see why your wife found this guy attractive. The domed head and yet still square muzzle indicate to me that possibly a brachycephalic breed was mixed with something of a longer muzzle. I've seen Pekingese x Chihuahuas that look similar and as well Japanese Chins x Cocker Spaniels that look much like this in the head and muzzle. Another breed or part of the mix to look toward would be the Tibetan Spaniel.

I like the small breeds, and I think this guy is a very cute little mix.

·
Registered
4,966 Posts
Looks like a Japanese Chin mix to me... the solid black colour is interesting. Maybe some Cavalier King Charles Spaniel in there as well.

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
I would agree and say something with either Chihuahua, Japanese Chin, Spaniel and Pekingese.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
Thank you for all the replies... He does get quite a bit of attention.

We've been big dog owners for most of our lives and were wondering if anyone had any tips for these smaller breeds ? His rear hind leg hair is long and I'm not sure if it's supposed to be there... the rest of him is fine.

Here are a couple more pics, and one next to Oscar, our rescued lab/golden mix.
Surprisingly, Kyno is the only dog our old boy can tolerate as a live-in partner... Oscar is actually quite fond of the little guy.

Thanks again.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,975 Posts
Thank you for all the replies... He does get quite a bit of attention.