Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, my sister has been talking about the cost of feeding Tucker, her giant Great Dane (whom I love dearly and talk about often :) ). I'm trying to help her out since she and her hubby just started new jobs and want a good food that isn't too expensive. He eats A LOT!

I've read good reviews online about Chicken Soup for the Pet Lovers Soul- Large Breed, and know it's not as expensive as other brands.

Here is one of the reviews:
http://www.petfoodratings.net/dogs.html#CSDLSf
I like that it got a great nutritional review but is also reasonably priced.

Has anyone here fed it to their pups? I'd love to hear your opinion!

·
Registered
159 Posts
Yes. I've been feeding it to my dog for a couple months now and it's great. Unfortunately, they don't sell it near me but I get a pretty good deal from PetFoodDirect.com. With shipping, it's about $50 per 35 pound bag, which is reasonable to me.

Gatsby seems to be doing really well on this food. His poops are nice and solid, and he has tons of energy. I can't say his coat looks any shinier or healthier (he was on Science Diet before, from the shelter) but it's only been two months.

We plan on sticking to it. Gatsby really seems to like the taste, too, but he'll eat just about anything.

Gatsby has also REALLY GROWN. Not necessarily the food, but the pound told us he's 1.5 years old. Obviously untrue, as he has exploded in size since we got him! He's now close to 60 pounds.

·
Registered
110 Posts
I've never used Chicken Soup Large Breed, but I've used the regular Chicken Soup formula and my dogs did great on it. I think the price is very reasonable for the ingredients and I've used it for foster dogs as well.