Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting on this board so let me know if I'm in the wrong place.

My family and I just adopted a 7 month old border collie a few days ago. From the minute we picked up him, he's been attached to me, my husband and our 2 year old son. He doesn't seem to show any anxieties and even had no problem getting used to our five year old chihuahuas. So my point is, he seems to at least for the most part, be settled in.

My situation is, it will still be a month or so before our yard gets fenced in so in the mean time, I'm trying to work on his basic training. I read and read and watched a zillion 'how to train' videos on youtube to prepare myself. I was so ready for this exhuberant, eager little pup to WANT to train and learn. So I got my nice stinky treat ready, got rid of all distractions and...it lasted all of five MAYBE ten minutes before he was tired. Keep in mind, he'd been napping before we started - he wasn't playing before it or anything.

So my question, is this normal for him to still be in the puppy mode where he exerts energy for a little bit then naps for a good while? If so, about at what age will he gain longer periods of activity?

Also, we eventually want to train Stewie (the dog) to do agility and frisbee. At what age is it okay to start teaching him agility things - for instance, I think I had heard not to teach jumps for them until they were over a year? And something about them being too big to get them to roll over more than once?

So there it is, if you stuck around for the whole post, I thank you greatly, lol. Anyways, any help or information you can offer would be most appreciated. Thanks in advance,
Tiffany

....Also, just to introduce, here is a pic of my new baby!

·
Registered
5,615 Posts
Well, you've only had him a few days so be ready to accept that he may "change" a bit over the first couple of months..or not..