Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys,
I've read some great stuff on this thread (is thread the right term, im new to this!). I recently rescued this little terrier mix pup when he was 9 weeks, he just turned 14 weeks on friday, his name is Riot. And he sure is a Riot! His training has gone surprisingly well so far. I started with teaching him basic commands, Sit-Stay-Come-Down, which came pretty easy to him, and once he got those down for the most part I started incorporating Drop it, OFF!, No Bite!, Focus, Settle, and Go Bed. With each command I began teaching him with treats and every so often I will say the command without a treat and just lots of praise and will keep doing that until he can do each command without a treat every time and praise is enough. Because he is teething, the No Bite! is the most challenging so far, but I have been redirecting with a chew toy right away and if he still continues biting what he is not supposed to (hands, feet, etc) then I say No bite loudly in a stern voice to get his attention thats its not okay and ignore him for 20 seconds, oh and i quit playing tug of war with him. This method seems to be working the best. At first I was doing the Yelp method then realized that it wasnt working and I believe its because he wasnt with a litter the first weeks of his life, he was born with only one other sister who died so never had the "natural" lessons that pups get when with a litter. Drop it! he is improving slowly, I started teaching Riot this when we play fetch inside and the last week ive been working on it with him outside because he recently began grabbing up leaves or sticks when i take him to potty and my first instinct was to chase him to get it out of his mouth and quickly learned he was going to think it was a game. So now i don't chase him and i always make sure i have treats just in case when we go outside and do the same drop it routine like we do with hi