Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Training my dog to "stare at a squirrel" but at people, not squirrels, and on command

My dog is your standard, friendly lab mix (mixed with BC). Socialized up the wazzu; he has gone to parties, public places, any establishment that allows dogs, etc. Fine with strangers petting him, meets new people enthusiastically, etc. He’s far more interested in rolling out the welcome wagon than thinking elsewhere in the world dogs do things like bark at people who walk in the house or drive up the driveway.

I've had some experiences with strangers lately though that make me wish he commanded a bit more respect. In no way do I want my dog to be aggressive, but I was thinking of ways I could use his existence as a dog, and take advantage of his BC traits, to possibly make people think twice about approaching me, such as the ‘border collie stare’ he adopts when he sees squirrels, quail, rabbits, etc. It's quite the intense, focused look, and never has any aggression. I was thinking of ways I could train for this, with a verbal and physical queue. I'm drawing a blank on using the clicker to get him to do this on command, and was hoping I could get ideas here?

Like I said, I don't want him to be aggressive, and that is not my goal. Mostly just a handy party trick than something to actually rely on for protection.

·
Registered
9,391 Posts
Re: Training my dog to "stare at a squirrel" but at people, not squirrels, and on com

Not sure how you put the 'stalk' stare on cue. However, a Lab's happy bark is tremendously intimidating to non-dog people, and can be easy to put on cue. In fact, one famous trainer used to recommend something like teaching your dog to bark a lot, when you said, "Back Fido!" ... so onlookers would report that you were trying to keep your 'attack' dog under control, not realizing that you had cleverly changed the command for "sic'em!" :)

·
Registered
1,260 Posts