Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well technically this is not my first time owning a dog.

However this is my first time taking full responsibility for taking care of one, since my two dogs previously were trained and taken care of by my elder sister and father.

Now both of them are not living with me anymore, and my mother has given me a small pure-breed Chihuahua as a present (I've been wanting one since I was little) and I have full responsibility of taking care of him and everything. He's around 12 weeks old now, give or take a little.

He's very bright, mischievous and energetic and loves to jump around. When I call his name, he'll come to me real quick like. I have taught him to sit, stay and shake.

However, he's become really shy and timid around other people, I'm not sure about how he is with other dogs, he loves playing around with my other dog I can say that for sure. When I first got him he was fine and would play with guests, but now he'd run away and stick really close to me if someone visits and if someone bends down to give him a pat, he'd run away.
How do I get him to become less shy around other people? And possibly dogs in the event he should meet one and be scared?

And another problem I'm having is training him to walk on a leash.
I mean, yeah he's still too young to go out and walking about to the park, but I want to have him trained to walk nice like so when he IS all clear to go out walking, I'd have no problems, ya?
But unlike my other dog, though, he seems to hate the leash.