Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I'm still in the process of teaching my new dog basic commands such as "sit", "drop it", etc. It's been a somewhat painful process thus far with very little progress. But I'm trying to stay positive. I'm new at all this so I'm sure part of the problem is just inexperience on my part.

Anyway, my current problem is this... my dog is barking AT me during training. For example, when I'm trying to get him to sit he will lean down on his front legs and just bark and bark and bark at me. I don't know whether this is because he's confused or just wants the treat without working for it or what. But he does this almost immediately when we start training and will not focus.

What should I do when he does this? I've been just leaving the room and kind of ignoring him. When I do this he typically stops barking immediately and follows me wherever I go. After a couple minutes I try again. Same exact thing. Rinse. Repeat.

It's getting increasingly frustrating. Am I going about this the wrong way? Is there another way to settle him down and get him to focus without ignoring? I just don't want him to think that barking in my face all the time is okay. But at the same time I want to train him.

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
Heh, Caeda does this occasionally, especially if I try "free shaping", she gets SOOOO frustrated because she doesn't know what to do for the treat, and gets impatient after she tries a few things.