Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,674 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've read that avocados are toxic to dogs -- but it's often in dog food (e.g. Avoderm!). Why would it be an ingredient in dog food if it's toxic? I've also read in some places that mushrooms are -- but is that only so that people won't let their dogs eat wild mushrooms which COULD be toxic? Are mushrooms that we buy at the store and eat ok?

Those are two very commonly eaten foods in our house, and Hamilton has sucked down dropped pieces of both in the past. Obviously I'm not trying to feed my dog a diet of avocados and mushrooms, but how big of a concern should it be if he nabs pieces? I'm a really messy cook. :|

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
I use www.peteducation.com and put toxic food in the search bar. I never feed any of the things on their list. I would rather be safe than sorry. There is also a toxic plant list you can search for on this site ... all articles are printable also. I keep the printed lists on my fridge.

I find it extremely odd that garlic and rosemary are both also used in dog foods!???? :/

·
Registered
3,674 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hm.. for avocado it says "The leaves, seeds, fruit, and bark contain persin, which can cause vomiting and diarrhea." But isn't Avoderm's selling point (and uhm.. name?) the fact that it contains healthy fats from avocado? Does not compute!

For mushrooms it says "Can contain toxins, which may affect multiple systems in the body, cause shock, and result in death" which leads me to believe they are referring to unknown mushrooms -- because mushrooms I buy at the grocery store most certainly do NOT contain toxins!

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
Hm.. for avocado it says "The leaves, seeds, fruit, and bark contain persin, which can cause vomiting and diarrhea." But isn't Avoderm's selling point (and uhm.. name?) the fact that it contains healthy fats from avocado? Does not compute!