Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello
ive just taken ownership of a choc lab puppy, 14 weeks old and loves to chew toys.

i'm a rubber technologist by trade and i'm concerned that the rubber toys on the market may contain highly toxic nitrosamines. i've tried to get information on line and from manufacturers without success.

i have found information about heavy metals, but nothing at all about cancer causing nitrosamines. in human contact rubber goods, i.e medical devices, condoms, baby teats, toy balloons the nitrosamine levels are controlled to very low levels or banned completely. for analogous reading see the recent publicity on the canon camera recall, where type IV allergies were caused by the use of toxic materials in the camera rubber grip.

there are alternatives for the rubber toy manufacturers to use, i know, the company i work for makes them!

any advice? i'm not buying a rubber toy until i get some some evidence to say that the product is nitrosamine free!

thanks
kelvyn

·
Registered
2,000 Posts
Hi,
I do not buy any rubber toys for my dogs. I supervise any play with the stuffed ones as my one dog tends to rip them open and upstuff them. She will also chew off legs, embroidered eyes etc. So toys are not left laying around the house. I would be interested in what your findings are in the future.

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
Hello and welcome! :)

I also would be interested in your findings ... as the Kong toys are listed as 100% all natural rubber. What does that consist of? I use these as my dogs are also big stuffie manglers.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
my gut feeling is that most natural rubber toys will be made using ingredients(accelerators) called dithiocarbamates, thiazoles, sulphenamides. in some cases a cocktail of accelerators is used. these are not nice materials.