Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
411 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been feeding Taco TOTW for about 6 months now. The last bag I bought was the High Prairie flavor that he started two or so months ago. He's usually on Comfortis for fleas, and about a month ago I realized I was a couple of weeks late giving him his pill. He usually has a few fleas even if I give him his dose exactly on time just because the fleas are SO bad around here. But when I checked him, he didn't have a single, solitary flea. The only change that I've made at all is his food, so that has to be the reason.

I had heard that feeding a high quality food made a difference, but I guess I had to see it to believe it. He is 6 weeks past due for his Comfortis and is still completely flea free. So that's one more point in favor of spending a little more on better food. I may be spending a few bucks more for his food, but I'm saving at least $16 a month on flea preventive. And since a $25 bag lasts about 4 months, it's like I'm feeding him for free with an extra $39 in my pocket every 4 months :)

·
Registered
9,131 Posts
I don't understand how a dog eating well could make him less desirable to fleas? Could it be any other reason, like more or less rain than usual in your area?

·
Registered
74 Posts
I have heard many times that if you feed a dog better food they won't get fleas. The theory is that fleas are only attracted to unhealthy dogs. I don't think I am willing to take the chance though of that theory being wrong.

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
You have been lucky. Usually I only give flea prevention a few times a year. This year they have attempted.to take over. I don't believe its the food at all. I fed totw and it did nothing for fleas. I have switched to 4health a couple of years ago. It does nothing for fleas either.

·
Registered
11,145 Posts