Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had a read of a few of the forums.

My and wife and I have been thinking about getting a dog for a while but our lifestyle has been somewhat demanding and we didn't feel that we could really give a dog the good home and attention it would need. Basically, we both have full time jobs that mean we're away from the house for around 8-9hours each weekday. On top of this, we live in a 2 bed flat so there isn't exactly much space for another (if smaller) member of the family, although the park is only 3 minutes walk away.

I'm a teacher which means I will have 6 weeks in the summer to buy and train a dog before work begins in again in September. After this time, the dog could also stay at my inlaws for a few weeks here and there if things got relly busy (They're dog mad).

Botton line: Is it realistic for us to be even entertaining the idea of getting a dog / rescue dog or puppy given our commitments as they are? We would certainly make a point of walking him/her everyday even if we couldn't necessarily be in all day and we can loan him/her to the inlaws who have often commented they would be more than happy to look after them. If so, what dogs might be appropriate?

Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
3,436 Posts
Your concerns about space and working out of the home all day are pretty normal. Let me ask you this, why do you did you start entertaining the idea of getting a dog to begin with...what reasons do you have for wanting a dog?

·
Registered
1,184 Posts
Many people work 9-5 type of jobs. As long as you have a plan on how the dog will relieve itself during the day it should be fine. Just keep in mind you will need a dog who will be suited to this type of situation.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4