Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a new dog owner of a 12 week old king charles cavalier X poodle. We've had him for a week and things seem to be going ok. It helps that I am a teacher and I'm on Spring Break.

I've posted a bit in the newbie forum, but I thought I would post here since it seems to get a bit more traffic.

We've followed a lot of advice from Ian Dunbar's book. I think our dog is getting used to our place, and he is pretty comfortable in his crate since we have given him plenty of scheduled time in it. At night he doesn't make any noise until about 6am when he has to go pee.

I've kept an eye on him pretty much the whole time he's been out of his crate. I'm also a slave to the clock now, trying to time when he has to go to the bathroom. I take him outside regularly on a leash since we don't have an enclosed backyard, and when he eliminates he gets praise and a treat.

He's had few accidents inside, but I'm to blame for them as my timing / watching was off. You really do have to watch them EVERY second. It was frustrating because it feels like a couple of steps back, but from reading on the forums it seems like this is normal. I don't get angry with him, and take him outside after. (Is their any point to that?)

The one thing I'm a bit worried about is his socialization. He's met about a dozen people so far, and seems to be fine with them, but I haven't been able to get 100 people to meet him in a week like Dunbar recommends. He gets his final shot next week, and after that I'm hoping to take him to some puppy socializing / training classes.