Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

Teaching puppy that former family member poses threat

1K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  RonE 
#1 ·
Hi,
Is it possible to train my 10months old lab girl to protect me and the kids from my abusive husband, given he was part of our pack since we got her in May?
(Kids and I fled in October)

She never growled at him or similar; in hindsight however I am pretty sure he abused her as well (e.g. misusing her electric shock collar from her invisible fence).

She is the sweetest thing I have ever known, literally will not harm a fly, is scared to death of everything and anything but guard dog material.

#2 ·
I hesitate to reply on this topic.

I don't know if you can train a dog to specifically target an individual. I know a dog can be trained in a Protective mode, but I have no knowledge as to how or what breeds a biddable in this mode.

If you haven't, I suggest you get a restraining order implemented. I think your most prudent course is with the legal system.

#3 ·
Thanks Knute!

Restraining orders tend to expire after a while and unfortunately will not safe my childrens' life nor mine.

On a side note....I walked into my place tonight and over to my puppy.
Sweet girl was snoring away and was completely oblivious to the fact somebody had entered the home/her room even after I was crouching down right next to her saying her name.
While she is everything to me and the kids, I am thinking she might simply lack any and all guard-dog potential ??

#4 ·
There are alternate paths you can take to help mitigate the situation. Some include moving, installing alarms, self protection class, firearm purchase and training.

I still believe the law is your best ally in this situation. Talk to domestic abuse experts about what steps you could take. Services are available to help.

I agree, if the dog is that disinterested. I doubt if Protection training would be successful.

#6 ·
Agreed.