Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi gang, I'm a newbie.

I've gotten my 11 month-old dog used to cooked food. I am now making the switch to Royal Canin kibbles and my dog has barely eaten in two days. But this time I'm sticking to the program: it's kibbles or nothing.

before you let the dogs out on me, here's the explanation:

- with prepared food I don't know if I'm providing him with a balanced diet (a typical meal would include loads of rice, some kind of meat, carrots, broccoli).
- stool quality is poor with prepared food (the few times he did eat the kibbles, stool quality improves dramatically).
- dog food like RC, prepared in consultation with vets, will provide all the nutrients he needs.

those are the primary reasons.

Less important, but part of the equation: I'm unemployed and RC kibbles, although they are not the cheapest dog food, are still cheaper than buying human meat at the store. I do emphasize the less important aspect of this.

What brings me to the forum is a little nagging worry that my dog might go on a hunger strike. Maybe he is also going for broke.

This is our third attempt at this. In the past I would eventually crack and either give him some of my mine or make a batch of rice and start adding stuff to it (as specified above). But this time I am forcing him to accept his kibbles. Hell, even I've tried them and they're fresh and they're OK.

Again, don't lecture me on trying to go cheap: I'm one of those dog owners (and I know there's many of us) who will not feed by-products to my dog. My conscience is clear.

I just hate to see my dog clam up like this and be hungry.

My mother said maybe he has a gums or a teeth issue and thus cannot chew. Untrue as I discovered; throw him a rawhide and he'll tear it up in two minutes flat.

if anyone has any explanation let me know.