Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Starting yesterday after work and then again this morning...my dog has developed a habit of suddenly STOPping while we are walking or jogging. She'll just stop and sit there, won't come in the direction we are going. I try changing directions, then turning around and going back after a little in the opposite direction. then I'll praise her when she resumes. We'll go a few feet and she'll stop again!

I have 2 theories as to why she is doing this.

1.) She hates her crate, I know she does, we are working on that but most mornings I have to pick her up to get her in there. As we start heading back towards the house, she thinks, "i'm not going back in there, he's gonna put me back in the crate!"

2.) She's still thinks she is in-charge. The alpha dog stuff.....as a newbie, I didn't know any better....she used to sleep on the bed, on the couch with us, always led while walking. We've nipped that stuff in the butt, she's on the floor now and taking it in stride. I make her walk beside me or behind me now, so she is no longer tugging on the leash. I'm thinking she is maybe trying to regain control?

Either way, it needs to stop because its VERY frustrating, especially when its our walk before work and I need to get going.

For reference, she is a 1 year old female, rhodesian ridgeback mix with some pitt bull, rescued from the streets 5 months ago by an organization. We've had her for 2-3 months.

How do we kick this habit and why is she doing it?

·
Registered
181 Posts
She may be associating the route back home with beig crated again however Id believe that theory more if she started her stopping like on the way up the driveway or stairs when it actually prolly dawns on her.