Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been giving my dog steroids (prednisone) for his itchiness.
His side effect seems to be uncontrollable bowel movements and he is pooing all over the house.
I have learned for the first time that the potty bell I've been making him ring every time we went out for the past 6 months is useless.

If I were to get some pads, would he be attracted to use it? He's about 3 years old and is trained to go outside.

·
Registered
2,000 Posts
Call your vet and tell him/her that your dog is having loose stool from the pred. There are medications that can be prescribed to help with the loose stool, Or your vet can switch to a less potent steriod like temeril p. Do not discontinue the pred unless you talk to your vet first. Stopping pred cold turkey can have dangerous consequences.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I haven't had it precisely diagnosed, but it's most likely seasonal allergies. He was like this the first summer I got him. His itching went away for the rest of the year.

I really don't want to get him on more meds on top of what he's already taking unless it's absolutely necessary. He doesn't seem to be in any pain or discomfort. Other than pooing around the house, he seems normal.

If I were to get some pads, would he use them without having been trained to use it?

·
Banned
693 Posts
I haven't had it precisely diagnosed, but it's most likely seasonal allergies. He was like this the first summer I got him. His itching went away for the rest of the year.

I really don't want to get him on more meds on top of what he's already taking unless it's absolutely necessary. He doesn't seem to be in any pain or discomfort. Other than pooing around the house, he seems normal.

If I were to get some pads, would he use them without having been trained to use it?
No, he'd probably look at the weird paper on the floor, then continue going where he has been going.