Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A couple of years ago, I decided on a whim to pursue a degree as a veterinary technician. I have been working in the field for over 11 years, but for whatever reason, I decided to go back.

After two years of working 12 hour overnight shifts, having class during the day and averaging about 3 hours of sleep per day, I have finally become a college graduate, as of Friday night (5/8). :D It feels kind of lame to be so happy about it, since it's only a 2 year degree, but hey... it's what I have. :eek:

I take my national boards in June and my states ~8 weeks later, then I will officially be an LVT. What does that mean for me? Not much, sadly. I live and work in a state that does not require technicians to be licensed. However, it does make me a bit more "marketable" and will make pursuing another job easier. It also allows me to become a VTS (veterinary technician specialty) in either emergency & critical care, small animal internal medicine, anesthesia, behavior or dentistry. I've already looked in to adding on to my degree and earning a bachelor's, but I think I'll take some time off for a few months. Maybe by the beginning of next year, I'll be ready again.

So yeah. Here's to me (and the rest of the '09 grads)! :p

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
It's definitely something to be happy about!! You should be proud! Congratulations!!! :D

·
Registered
1,801 Posts
Anesthesia would be fun to specialize in. XD I loved anesthesia. <333

Good luck! I found the VTNE's to be actually pretty easy, except for the random off-the-wall questions, such as osterich and fish questions.

·
Registered
7,507 Posts
Congratulations!!! That's wonderful. You worked hard and you deserve to be proud.

here's to you.

*raises glass* :D

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Anesthesia would be fun to specialize in. XD I loved anesthesia. <333