Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We finished Adult Basic Obedience class with Biscuit a couple of months ago and took some time off after that, but we decided it's time for another class so we signed up for Intro to Agility starting a week from Sunday! It's at the same dog school, but different trainer. The first session is an hourlong "orientation" and we're not supposed to bring our dogs.

I'm a rank amateur and so is my husband (and so is our dog, obviously). I think Biscuit will be good at this, but actually I have absolutely not the slightest idea about agility beyond what I've seen on TV. I know there are some agility fiends on this forum -- do any of you have any words of wisdom for newbies? What to expect? Advice?

·
Registered
10,186 Posts
No advice, but congratulations! I think Biscuit will love it.

·
Registered
19,018 Posts
Definitely look for the first class to be a foundations class and not much in the way of actual equpiment. First class should be flatwork, drive building, etc. I would run, not walk away from a trainer that starts you off by bringing your dog in and luring them over jumps and equipment on a leash the first day. Been there done that and it's so not worth it. Foundations are SO important.

·
Registered
1,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hm, the description is: "Intro to basic obstacles like jumps, tunnels, and contacts, plus beginning handling concepts" and that we will get a "solid grounding in the basics." The first day is dogless so they won't be having us lure dogs over anything, but it doesn't sound like the whole series will just be flatwork and drive building (although I'm not actually sure what flatwork is...).

·
Registered
3,193 Posts