Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

is it common for dogs to have siezures

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi my name is Fran last nite about 3:30am my dog had a full blown siezure it lasted about 3min, I work in the medical field and have seen plenty of people have siezures which is a good thing because i knew as soon as it happened that it was a siezure ,He was disorinted,foaming at the mouth and fell when he tried to stand up and just like a person he urinated on himself,he has never had it happen before. He is about 15 years old and seems to be in good health please give me some sugestions it was really a scarey thing. he seems to be doing well now but i am afraid it could happen again,Thank you in advance for all your help.

·
Registered
705 Posts
Sorry to hear this happen but it is pretty clear as to your next move.
Call your vet, make an appointment, and take him.

·
Registered
4,151 Posts
Hi my name is Fran last nite about 3:30am my dog had a full blown siezure it lasted about 3min, I work in the medical field and have seen plenty of people have siezures which is a good thing because i knew as soon as it happened that it was a siezure ,He was disorinted,foaming at the mouth and fell when he tried to stand up and just like a person he urinated on himself,he has never had it happen before. He is about 15 years old and seems to be in good health please give me some sugestions it was really a scarey thing. he seems to be doing well now but i am afraid it could happen again,Thank you in advance for all your help.
I'd take him to the vet, just to be safe. Some seizures are pretty random and only happen once, and sometimes they can have many seizures (several per day). I've seen pretty mild seizures, and some really scary ones (scary even to anyone who's seen their share of seizures in dogs).