Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Morning,

I'm new to puppyhood and this forum. My 9 week old Golden, Asha, has been settling in fairly well and hasn't had any accidents in the house for 4 days (had her since the weekend).

But she's whines and whines in her crate at night. I also work 8-5 and she probably also whines during the day. I do let her out periodically throughout the night and during the day (neighbor and/or I come home).

We purchased a sturdy exercise pen yesterday to use instead of the crate downstairs and brought the crate into the bedroom and put her in it to sleep. As soon as we closed the door she started whining. I opened the door to see what she would do (after she quieting for a minute) and she came out but went back in and laid down. I closed the door after a few minutes and she started whining again.

I feel bad for not wanting to keep her in my bedroom (I feel sleep deprived as it is and can hear her from by bedroom when she whines downstairs), so I took her back to the x-pen. She whined for a little while and stopped.

What do you think about keeping her in my bedroom but not use a crate? Maybe just leash her and keep her on the ground? I don't want her in bed (I have a cat, too and that's her territory :)

I feel bad that she's crated for so much of the day. She doesn't have all of her shots yet, so can't go on walks. I try to tire her out running around the backyard, but that doesn't help the whining.

Suggestions? Thanks!!

-Monu

·
Registered
2,466 Posts
1. Ignore the whining. Just make sure she has a special crate only chew toy such as a stuffed Kong toy or, IF she won't tear it apart, a stuffed animal to sleep with.

2. Use the ex-pen when you're at work or can't get home within a couple hours. Just put the crate inside the pen with the crate door open and set it all up in an easily cleaned location such as the kitchen.

·
Registered
2,000 Posts