Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a first-time dog owner and have been doing massive amounts of research the past year to make sure I'm ready for a new family member. I have talked to all my family members and they all gave an okay. I don't know anyone with pets and don't know where to start reaching out and therefore ended up at this forum. Please bear with me.
I am planning to adopt an adult dog. And while I have done all my research and am in my last steps of preparations to register for an adoption, I'm suddenly hesitant. I really do want a dog, but I'm worried and anxious. It's my first time taking care of a dog and while I prepared myself in every aspect I can think of to give him/her a great new home, I'm worried that I won't do as well as I wish to as a pet parent. It's not a matter of whether they'd be thankful or not, but whether I can make 'them' as happy as I want them to be. This matter has became rather troubling for me the past month or so.
Is there any advice anyone can give?

·
Registered
288 Posts
Everyone has to start somewhere.
Frist give yourself a pat on the back for adopting. Secondly its often easier to start with an adult dog.. Theyve gone through the pooping and peeing stage and are mostly housetrained , most wont chew your furniture and many have already learned basic commands.