Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,914 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay, so I have a soon to be year old huskyxgsd and she's fantastic. Well except for when we're walking. Upendi thinks it's her job in life to pull me as much as she can. I've tried food, toys, affection to train her for loose leash walking. After that I moved on to the gentle leader and even with that she still pulled and really just hated it. So we moved onto the easy walk harness and once again she still pulls. The next step would be a prong collar, but I live in a small farming time and there are NO reputable trainers in the area. I've been looking since she was 8 weeks old for a trainer. And I'm not experienced with a prong collar so I don't want to try and use it without properly knowing how and end up hurting her. So does anyone have any ideas on how I can train her to lose leash walk? I'm up for anything. She's extremely well behaved any other time.

I might also add that I've tried stopping and waiting for her to sit everytime she pulls. Well she's got the point and sits as soon as I stop, but as soon as we start she's back to pulling. I've also tried turning and going to other way when she pulls as well. She gets walked at least once a day for an hour sometimes twice and she gets a daily off leash run outdoors aswell.

·
Registered
4,423 Posts