Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... like my dog never has a problem going with car rides with me, she's up for anything (we've taken her on a small cessna plane, we have taken her on the boat). I've never had her be hesitant about going somewhere with me.

But twice my roommate has tried to take her with him when he is going somewhere (i'm not home and she's in his care) and apparently she resists going and wants to go back in the house. She likes him and is excited when he comes home so it's not like she fears him or something (shoot, she likes everyone though I do think she may prefer me, she does tend to follow where I go if I go one way and my roommate the other).

Any one better with dog behavior tell me what my dog might be thinking?

·
Registered
8 Posts
I am no expert but when you are not there and someone tries to take them away from their comfort area....and that person is not you...they may almost feel like they are being kidnapped

what type of car do you and they have?

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am no expert but when you are not there and someone tries to take them away from their comfort area....and that person is not you...they may almost feel like they are being kidnapped

what type of car do you and they have?
Oh, he has a truck and an audi. I had a BMW sedan and now a Celica. But she's been in both of his cars with me in it.

But that does make sense. I kinda wondered if she maybe thought she needed to wait for me to get home and didn't want to leave in case I did. But your explanation is a lot simpler and makes more sense (mine attributes a lot of logic going through my dog's head). Though I still wonder why she thinks he'd kidnap her. I mean he's taken care of her while I was gone for a week even.

·
Registered
8 Posts