Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, so this is my first time posting and I'm very excited to be a part of this forum!
So I have a client that I've been working with who has a HIGHLY active 6 month old neutered male Pitbull who is sweet as can be. The issue is, he has a serious mouthing issue and just randomly does it throughout the day where he will walk up to someone in the house, and begin grabbing their ankles, arms, back, pretty much anything. Normally with mouthing, my go-to method is to ignore and reward for sitting or calmness. BUT, in this situation, his mouthing is so persistent and painful, that you simply cannot ignore it and need to act immediately, as he's left bruises all over the owner. She said sometimes these things work, other times he is uncontrollable. So, here are some of the tips I've given that have all somehow failed:
-Tether him to owner to catch him fast and work on appropriate behaviour throughout the day
-Keep a leash on him dragging and as soon as he mouths, put him in a time-out in a boring room
-Work on catching it before it even happens, re-directing onto something more appropriate (ex- ask for 'sit', then toss toy)
-I even taught him the cue 'find toy', so when he looks like he's about to get stimulated and mouthy, point/re-direct him to go find his toy instead
-Taught him a 'settle' cue and have had the owner practice settling in the home on command while working on longer periods of time in the home
-Providing structure, consistency, and a daily routine. Providing naps in crate throughout the day, providing enrichment and puzzle toys, training sessions throughout the day (short and sweet and he gets bored/frustrated very easily), going for jogs, impulse control activities.
-Switching up toys daily, presenting him with new toys to shift his focus onto something else